Devendra Fadnavis

Chief Minister, Maharashtra

Devendra Gangadharrao Fadnavis (born 22 July 1970) is an Indian politician and 18th, incumbent Chief Minister of Maharashtra holding the office from 31 October 2014. A member of Bharatiya Janata Party and the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh, at the age of 44, he became the second youngest Chief Minister of Maharashtra after Sharad Pawar. Fadnavis represents the Nagpur South West constituency in Maharashtra Legislative Assembly.

His political career began in the mid-nineties. His personal ideology is that ‘Politics is an instrument for socio-economic change’ and his political career of 25 years so far reflects the same.

He has essayed multiple leadership roles for both his political party as well as an elected representative of the people of Nagpur, Maharashtra. As a college student, Fadnavis was an active member of ABVP. In the ABVP, he started as a grassroots worker. He won his first municipal election from Ram Nagar ward. Five years later Fadnavis became the youngest mayor of the Nagpur Municipal Corporation and became the second youngest mayor in the history of India.

He has been elected Member of the Legislative Assembly of Maharashtra State, representing Nagpur, since 1999 and is serving his 4th Term as of 2014. In his many years as a representative of the people in the Maharashtra State Assembly, he has been a part of several committees.